Rain, Rain Go Away….

Anyone have the schematics for an ark?  I am beginning to think that we are going to need them quite soon.  Life here in Michigan is one big soggy and overly wet mess.  Not a day has gone by in the last two weeks where we have not had some sort of precipitation falling from the sky. Today is no better, in fact, it’s gotten much worse.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m all for an occasional Spring downpour to help with the rebirth of nature that surrounds us.  Really I am.  But I never signed on for Seattle or London type weather when I agreed to relocate to Michigan more than a dozen years ago.

The rain is wreaking all kinds of havoc on our homestead….  We’ve got a basement that is once again leaking (after boatloads of money was spent to repair numerous leaks), a backyard that is now a swamp, and now, to our surprise, a garage roof that has sprung a small but very annoying leak.

But the worst of all the chaos this never-ending rain brings, is keeping my boys from being able to play outside.  There are only so many hours they can spend indoors without killing each other.  If I had a dime for each time I heard one of them whine over the last week, I’d have enough money to re-roof the entire house AND completely re-waterproof the basement with enough left over for a nice evening out with the husband.

My boys LOVE our back yard.  It isn’t much, but with their fortress/swing set and their toys, they can easily spend hour upon hour outside.  Husband LOVES our back yard.  He enjoys sipping his coffee and reading the paper or surfing the internet from the comfort of our patio.  I LOVE our back yard. I’ve got a beautiful sofa swing calling my name, begging me to curl up and read a good book on it. We’ve got a grill longing to be used and plants begging to be planted. We even have a lovely fire pit that is beckoning for fresh wood and marshmallows to roast.  All to no avail….

Because thanks to Mother Nature it ain’t happenin’.

So if you are out and about, could you kindly tell the old broad to quit with the rain.  Michigan, its people and our spirits are drowning as are MANY other states because of her unwillingness to let go!  Like the song says…… LET THE SUN SHINE!! LET THE SUN SHINE!! THE SUN SHINE IN!!!!

About justaphillygirl

40-something mom to 3 great kids - 2 who walk and 1 who soars with the Angels. Stay at home mom, originally from Philly, PA but living life as large as I can in Southeastern Michigan.
This entry was posted in Life, Life in Michigan, Nature, Uncategorized, Weather and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

