Phobias – They SUCK!

I recently broke a tooth, a molar to be exact. I knew it was bound to happen sooner or later. Unfortunately it was all the sooner than I would have liked.  I hate my teeth, I hate everything about them.  Their shape, color, positioning. You name it, I hate it.  But it wasn’t always like that.  Thanks to the dumb ass dentist that scarred me for life……

I had to call the dentist to make an appointment, I couldn’t put if off.  It was the comfort factor that made me do it. I wasn’t experiencing pain, but it felt odd as it was on the side of my tooth that rubs along the inner cheek.

For anyone else in the world, that would have been a piece of cake.  Oh no, not for me.  For me it meant taking ten or more long, slow, deep breaths. And that was just to work up the nerve to actually make the phone call to make the appointment.  Then it was the trying to talk through my shaky tear-laden voice.

Husband tried to be helpful.  (Although I think he thinks I am crazy, as do lots of other people.) He gave me the dentist’s website link so I could fill out my new patient forms BEFORE the appointment so I don’t have to sit in the waiting room too long.  Just filing out the forms my palms were sweating and my feet turned to ice.  He assured me that the dentist is a good guy and is all about painless and gentle dentistry. Ugh!

I can only IMAGINE how much a wreck I am going to be on the drive there and even worse, the time spent in the waiting room.  I’m already getting a stress headache from thinking about it.  Did I say Ugh?

I’m really hoping this dentist will be kind and gentle and that absolutely NO pain will be involved.  I’m hoping that before he even touches me he will take a few moments to actually talk with me and allay my fears.  (Can you say Valium?) I’m hoping that I don’t see the needle or feel the sting of the numbing agent. I’m hoping I don’t break out in hives or worse, start crying like a blubbering idiot.  I’ve already told his scheduling secretary, so hopefully she’s marked my chart with the words “MASSIVE WIMP” all over it!

This visit to the dentist shouldn’t be a big deal you say? Well, thanks to a crappy dentist back in Philly, who I will kindly leave nameless, I have been extremely dental phobic for the last 15 years.  That’s right people 15 YEARS!  Completely let my dental health go because of one of the worst experiences in my life.  It’s right up there on the list of sucky life happenings… probably a notch or two below the death of my daughter.

It’s AWFUL how one person’s actions that caused SO much pain and so much sickenss after treatment has held me captive and ruined part of my life and my health.

I’m hoping today all that will change.  Fingers crossed, prayers being chanted incessantly.  Because if I have any pain like I experienced that caused this horrendous fear, I’m kicking the dentist where the sun don’t shine!

Like the heading says…. PHOBIAS SUCK!

About justaphillygirl

40-something mom to 3 great kids - 2 who walk and 1 who soars with the Angels. Stay at home mom, originally from Philly, PA but living life as large as I can in Southeastern Michigan.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Phobias – They SUCK!

  1. Now the good news is that dentistry has improved and is much more humane! Good luck and let us know how it goes!

  2. Oh I feel you on this girl. I too have a serious phobia about the dentist!!!! Some people just don’t understand it, but it’s real and very scary. I only go about every two years…god that sounds horrible. But it’s true. I know exactly how you feel, trust me. I hope it all goes well for you and you feel better about it soon.

    …sending you a virtual hug from one phobia freak to another!

    • Eve, thank you! FINALLY SOMEONE WHO GETS IT!!

      It actually did go well. The procedure is going to be done on May 19th and he promised me no pain and basically no memory of going that day. 🙂 Thank goodness for happy meds! That makes me feel much more relaxed. I was surprised at how compassionate he was. Now I just have to get past the sound of the drill, but I think if I put my ear buds in and blast some music I won’t hear a thing.

      Thanks again for the kind words of understanding and support!

      HUGS right back at you!

  3. Kristy says:

    I have never been able to get over my phobia of heights. I have even put myself in positions to try and overcome it. I now go down escalators even. I still have it though.
    Total panic attack when faced with a height. Sorry. I’m not very encouraging. But, I love your housewife post below! 🙂

    • Kristy,
      Thanks! I completely understand what you are going through. I hate when something can take total control over a part of your life. I hate the feeling of hopelessness. Hang in there and remember it takes baby steps to get through it. I went to the dentist, had him do xrays and the exam. Told him that was all for that day. It was all I couild handle at that time. He was nice enough to prescribe some meds that will keep me calm when the procedure (a root canal) is done. My goal is to take less and less meds so that I can go for a cleaning without any meds at all.

      As for going down the escalator, it is a baby step in the right direction! Keep it up!! I’m pulling for you 🙂

      And thanks for the kind words about my housewives post. I appreciate them!!

      Happy week to you!

  4. Nicole says:

    I am the same way. I had to go for a root canal last year. I waited as long as I could but the pain got too bad and Motrin stopped working:) I found a dentist that could sedate me. They asked if I need partial or full sedation. I told them, I need the strongest thing you have. 🙂 That is the ONLY way I made it through.

  5. good luck. the dentist is never fun. but i agree that it’s much more humane!

  6. Emily says:

    How did it go? I found your blog on my quest to help my son with his dental fears. He’s a little guy, but I figured if there are tips to help dental fears they can be useful at any age. My son, unfortunately had his intro to dentistry after a fall & tooth injury, so the whole experience was traumatic. And I really wanted to find a dentist who would sedate him… the alternative was him being fully awake and strapped to a restraining board. Talk about major dental phobias… he’d be right there with ya. This Mom’s Guide has been helpful to me as I’ve been searching for tips, maybe there will be something helpful for you as well. Thanks for sharing your story.

    • Surprisingly it went well. (Although I did get sick after too much nitrous). I go back in 2 1/2 weeks for the remainder of the work – permanent filling and fitting for my crown. And it looks like I have one more that needs some work. My goal is to finally be able to go and get regular cleanings WITHOUT any type of sedative. I will most certainly look up the website you gave me! Thanks for the information 🙂

Leave a Reply

