Edible Memories

Here we go again! Yet another fabulous prompt from that darling that we all love, Mama Kat.  This one’s gonna be a breeze.  It jumped right off the page at me and smacked me across my watering mouth!!

Prompt #5: Comfort food at it’s finest. Share a family favorite recipe you loved as a child.

Growing up in Philadelphia, I had a great life.  It was simple and understated but I couldn’t have asked for more.  I had two loving parents that worked hard to give me all my heart could desire.  Through their sacrifice I was able to attend the best Catholic grade school and high school in our area. I never went without anything I truly needed in life.

One place in our house that I loved to be was in the kitchen with my Mom.   Hands down, I had THE most kick-ass Mom in the Universe!  She is an amazing woman who can make the most delicious meals out of anything she touches.  Corn flakes, tomato paste, olives and spinach? Give it to my mom and she’ll make you a meal fit for a king!  She’s like that, just sayin’.

The most favorite meal my Mom ever made took four ingredients. That’s it, four.  No  more, no less.  It’s something that to this day, when she comes to visit me in Michigan, I MUST make her cook.  Pierogi with bacon and onions.  My mouth waters and my stomach grumbles just thinking about it!  Such a simple recipe that packs a wallop of taste in each bite.  So without further fanfare I give you:

Mama Carlene’s Positively Perfect Pierogi

  • Ingredients:
    • One box of Mrs. T’s potato and cheese pierogi
    • One pound of bacon
    • One large yellow onion
    • One small container of sour cream.
  • Preparation:
    • Dice both the bacon and onion into large chunks and set aside.
    • In a large sauce pot, bring lightly salted water to boil.
    • Place pierogi in water and return to rapid boil
    • Boil until tender remove from pot and let drain on a plate
    • In a large frying pan, cook bacon till cooked to you liking
    • Remove bacon from pan and set to drain on a paper towel. Do NOT drain the grease from the bacon.
    • Place onions i n frying pan and cook until translucent
    • Remove onions to same plate as bacon and allow to drain.  Do NOT drain grease.
    • Carefully place pierogi in frying pan.  Cook for 3 minutes on each side or until the pierogi are crispy.
    • Remove from frying pans and set on paper towel to drain.
    • Continue this until all pierogi are cooked.
    • You may now discard the grease after it has cooled
    • Plate pierogi. Cut in half.
    • Place one or more tablespoons of the bacon and onion mixture into the pocket of the pierogi half and top with a dollop of sour cream. Repeat with remaining pierogie.
    • ENJOY!

YUM!!!!!  Now I’ve got to run to the store and get the ingredients……. Tooooooooddles!

Mama’s Losin’ It

About justaphillygirl

40-something mom to 3 great kids - 2 who walk and 1 who soars with the Angels. Stay at home mom, originally from Philly, PA but living life as large as I can in Southeastern Michigan.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Childhood, Food, Happiness, Life, Love, Mama Kat's Writers Workshop, Memories, Motherhood, Recipes, Traditions and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Edible Memories

  1. Mrs. Wonder says:

    I’ve never had pierogi. Adding it to the ‘try’ list!

    • I am looking forward to a trip to Philly so Mom can make them. They are DELISH! And there are several types of filling. But I’m a picky eater so I stick with the potato & cheese! I’ve tried to make them like Mom does, but it’s just NOT the same!

Leave a Reply

